And Away They Go

One of my favorite beaches is at Spreckelsville, along the north shore and not far from the Kahului Airport.  From here you can easily watch the planes fly overhead as they take off, departing for the mainland.  Before I moved back home, each time I saw a plane it was a sad reminder I’d soon be going back to Colorado.  And then, one day, I was lying on the beach, saw a plane pass above, and had that same sad feeling…until I realized: I don’t have a return ticket to anywhere. I get to stay! Now I say a little prayer of gratitude each time I see one take off.

Leave a Reply

