Putting Images to Canvas

One of my favorite things about painting is pulling together several images in my mind, imagining a composition, and then seeing what I’m able to bring forth through the paintbrush. The painting below came through a compilation of pictures, some memories and my imagination.  I find using a picture that I’ve taken from a place I’ve actually been work better than pictures I have no connection to.  These are some of the photos I used:

I took away some of the clouds over Haleakala, and added in the Kalapawili Ridge and morning sky colors from memory.

The view is from the shoreline in Peahi, looking up at Haleakala in the early morning before the sun has risen above the edge of the mountain.

Go to "Country Dawn" on Etsy

See it listed here in my Etsy Shop.

Leave a Reply

