Building a Painting V.2

Today I want to do another Ho’okipa view, this time from a slightly different angle. I take a photo and mark off where my scene will lay across the canvas. In this picture Molokai is in the distance, but I think it’s going to be too distracting to include it.

Here’s a sketch of the layout, including the colors I plan to use, and those for the color blocks. With the color blocks, what I like to call the “Dr. Seuss stage.”

Here goes the sky. I like how that cloud turned out.

Adding in the ocean and the coastline in the distance.

This was my original plan for the whitewater, or lines of waves going toward the shore. But I don’t like it.

A few strokes later… I like this.

Now I’ve got pretty much everything in place and I like how it looks, so it’s time to STOP. While I let the paint dry I think about the last piece, I was planning to include some windsurfers.  But I’m kind of liking what I have here.  Windsurfers or no windsurfers?  Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. 

And here’s the final result 🙂

Lastly, I put it in my shop on Etsy. See it here https://www.etsy.com/listing/102812507/windsurfers-playground-at-hookipa-v2

Leave a Reply

